The Walks Scheme

The Walks Scheme was launched on 4th March 2008 and has since been rolled out to cover 39 trails.  This is a national scheme involving all landholders on National Waymarked Ways, Looped Walking Routes and Heritage Routes, along with other trails that have been approved by the National Trails Office. The scheme will only operate where there is agreement on the entire walk and will not be available for part of a walk.

The scheme ensures that National Way Marked Ways and priority walks that traverse public and private lands are maintained and accessible. Participants in the Walks Scheme undertake to complete the enhancement and maintenance of the trails.

12 Rural Recreation Officers (RROs) are employed with Local Development Companies and have implemented the Walks Scheme which is administered by Local Development Companies on behalf of this Department.  The National Trails Office at the Irish Sports Council, Fáilte Ireland, Coillte, local walking management committees and Local Authorities, have also assisted the Department in the roll out of the scheme.