PEACE IV 2014-2020 Programme for Peace and Reconciliation

PEACE IV is a cross-border Programme co-financed by the EU through the European Regional Development Fund.  The Programme supports peace and reconciliation and promotes social and economic stability in Northern Ireland and the Border Region of Ireland (Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Louth, Monaghan and Sligo).

The total value of the Programme is c.€270m (including Irish and UK match funding).  It is 85% funded by the EU (€229m), with a matching combined contribution of €41m from the Irish and UK Governments (c.€9m and €32m respectively).  The Department of Rural and Community Development will provide almost €6m to projects over the life-time of the programme, with a matching contribution of €33m provided by the EU. The remaining Exchequer contribution of c.€3m is provided by the Department of Education and Skills.

The PEACE IV Programme is managed by the Special EU Programmes Body (SEUPB) on behalf of the Irish and UK Governments.  The SEUPB –

      • manages, monitors and evaluates the Programme as the Managing Authority,
      • manages all financial management aspects and makes payments to project beneficiaries as the Certifying Authority, supports the Programme Steering Committee and assists programme beneficiaries with project implementation as the Joint Secretariat, and
      • ensures the legality and regularity of all expenditure incurred as the Programme Financial Control Unit.

      The Department of Rural and Community Development is a designated Accountable Department.  As an accountable Department, it –

      • provides funding to the SEUPB for onward payment to PEACE Programme beneficiaries,
      • is an advisor on the Programme Monitoring Committee, which monitors the effectiveness and quality of the programme e.g. approving selection criteria, reviewing progress towards targets and evaluating impact of actions, and
      • is a member of the Programme Steering Committee, which selects projects for support under the Programme.

      The Department of Public Expenditure and Reform and the Department of Finance and Personnel (Northern Ireland) are the Member State Departments – they have overall responsibility for the programme.