Minister Michael Ring congratulates the winners in Ireland’s Best Kept Town Competition

Published 27June 2018

Ballina, County Mayo, wins the Best Kept Large Town category
Geashill, County Offaly, wins the Best Kept Village category

The Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring T.D., has congratulated the winners in Ireland’s Best Kept Town Competition 2018, who were announced this week.

Ireland’s Best Kept Town is an all-island competition in which some of the best towns in the SuperValu TidyTowns Competition compete against their counterparts in Northern Ireland’s Best Kept Competition.

In the results announced in Belfast, Ballina, County Mayo won the Best Kept Large Town category, while Geashill, County Offaly won the Best Kept Village category.

Randalstown, County Antrim was the overall winner of Ireland’s Best Kept Town Competition, as well as winning the Best Kept Small Town category.

Banbridge, County Down, won the Best Kept Large Urban Centre category.

Minister Ring said: “I want to congratulate all of the winners and nominees in the all-island Best Kept Town competition, and in particular Ballina and Geashill, who were the winners of the Best Kept Large Town and Best Kept Village respectively.

“I also want to pay tribute to Randalstown, Co. Antrim, the overall winner of Ireland’s Best Kept Town, and Banbridge, Co. Down, the winner of the Best Kept Large Urban Centre category.”

The Minister continued: “The all-island Best Kept Town Competition recognises the great pride people have in their own communities, both in Ireland and Northern Ireland.  It shows how local volunteers take ownership of their surroundings and work to improve them,  both for now and into the future.

“Being nominated for these awards represents an achievement in itself, and is recognition of the efforts made by volunteers and local communities in the SuperValu TidyTowns Competition and the Best Kept Competition in Northern Ireland.”

Doreen Muskett, MBE, President of the Northern Ireland Amenity Council, the body that organised the Best Kept Awards, said: “The competition is designed to reward those who take great pride in their communities by working tirelessly to make their surroundings a nice place to work, live and play in.  My sincere congratulations to all of this year’s awards recipients. The panel of esteemed judges had a very difficult task in comparing and selecting the eventual winners, which is a testament to the stunning towns and villages that we are lucky enough to have here.  I am delighted that Randalstown and Banbridge have been recognised amongst Ireland’s most beautiful spots.”



Notes for Editors
The Department of Rural and Community Development and the Northern Ireland Amenity Council initiated the Ireland’s Best Kept Towns Competition in 1995 to help raise the profile of both the SuperValu TidyTowns and Northern Ireland’s Best Kept competitions, and therefore help to improve the standard of towns and villages across the island of Ireland.  All entrants were marked against strict adjudication criteria that included cleanliness, the outward appearance of buildings, the presentation of roads and public facilities, and the natural environment.

Castlecaulfield, Co. Tyrone
Geashill, Co. Offaly
Tullahought, Co. Kilkenny

Small Town
Ahoghill, Co. Antrim
Cabinteely, Co. Dublin
Kilsheelan, Co. Tipperary
Randalstown, Co. Antrim

Large Town
Armagh, Co. Armagh
Ballina, Co. Mayo
Monaghan, Co. Monaghan

Large Urban Centre
Banbridge, Co. Down
Bray, Co. Wicklow
Derry City Centre, Derry
Leixlip, Co. Kildare

The Award winners are:
Best Village        –      Geashill, County Offaly
Best Small Town    –     Randalstown, County Antrim
Best Large Town   –      Ballina, County Mayo
Best Large Urban Centre   –      Banbridge, County Down
Overall winner            –      Randalstown, County Antrim