Management Team

Mr Kevin McCarthy was appointed Secretary General to the Department, following the Government meeting of 19 December 2017.

Kevin was formerly Assistant Secretary at the Department of Education and Skills where he has most recently held responsibility for external staff relations and terms and conditions of employment, school transport, and curriculum and assessment policy. He held previous responsibilities at Assistant Secretary level for the Planning and Building and Higher Education Divisions in the Department. Kevin McCarthy

Prior to his appointment as Assistant Secretary, Kevin served in the positions of Director, Ministerial Policy Adviser and Principal Officer in the Department of Education and Skills and held various responsibilities across the areas of Finance, Corporate Services, Central Policy and Higher Education. Before joining the Department of Education and Skills in 2002, Kevin worked in the Department of Health and in the health sector.

The Department of Rural and Community Development is organised in three Divisions, each of which is headed by an Assistant Secretary:

  1. Community Division – Bairbre Nic Aongusa
  2. Rural Development and Regional Affairs Division – William Parnell
  3. Corporate and Strategic Development Division – Sheenagh Rooney

Governance of the Department is overseen by the Department’s Management Board.

A list of the people who are Designated Public Officials for the purposes of the Regulation of Lobbying Act may be viewed here.

A list of those State Boards and Agencies funded from the Department’s Vote, together with links to their websites, may be viewed here.