Information about the Department of Rural and Community Development

Our Department

The Department of Rural and Community Development was established on 19 July 2017.

It is led by Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring T.D., and by Seán Canney T.D., Minister of State. Information about the Ministers can be found here.

Our Mission

The Department’s mission statement is: “To promote rural and community development and to support vibrant, inclusive and sustainable communities throughout Ireland”.

You can read the Department’s Statement of Strategy 2017-2020 in full here:
DRCD Statement of Strategy

Department Structure and Functions

Following the establishment of the Department via the Ministers and Secretaries (Amendment) Act 2017, the following functions were transferred to the new Department:

  • Rural Development and Regional Affairs functions of the former Department of Arts, Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs
  • Community functions of the former Department of Housing, Planning, Community and Local Government
  • Oversight of the Charities Regulator was transferred from the Department of Justice and Equality.

The Department is responsible for legislation relating to these functions, details of xwhich can be found in the following:

The Department is currently made up of three divisions, Rural Development and Regional Affairs, and Community Development, and a Corporate Affairs and Strategic Development Division.

Each division comprises different sections which oversee the various funding and support programmes for which the department has a responsibility. These funding and support programmes are allocated to each division as follows:

Rural: Town and Village Renewal scheme, Outdoor Recreation Infrastructure Scheme, Walks Scheme, Local Improvement Scheme, CLÁR, LEADER programme, the Tidy Towns competition, Regional Telecommunications Development and Dormant Accounts Fund (also supporting disadvantaged urban communities).

Community: Social Inclusion and Community Programme (SICAP), Community Services Programme, Community Enhancement Programme, Libraries Capital Investment Programme, Seniors Alert Scheme, Community and Voluntary Supports Programme, Scheme to Support National Organisations (SSNO), PEACE Programme.

Corporate Affairs and Strategic Development: Rural Regeneration and Development Fund

For further information on the role or function of these sections, please click here:

Bodies under the Aegis of the Department


The Department will oversee gross expenditure in excess of €220million in 2018, and a staff complement of approx. 135 across locations in Dublin, Ballina and other regional centres. Additionally there are 42 staff in the Charities Regulatory Authority that are contracted to the Department.

The Department’s 2017 Annual Report has been published and is available here.

To view the Department’s Corporate Governance Framework in full, click here.


All legislation is available on the electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB) which includes Acts of the Oireachtas and Statutory Instruments. All Statutory Instruments are categorised by year and the site is fully searchable.

Management Structure

The Department’s Management Board consists of the Secretary General, and three Assistant Secretaries, responsible for the respective Rural Development and Regional Affairs, Community Development and Corporate Affairs and Strategic Development Divisions.

Further details as to the Department’s structure and management tiers is available on

Designated Public Officials

Organisation and Pay/ Grading Structures

Pay and grading structures for all grades are in line with Government Circular 22/2017.


There are two main offices for the Department, one located in Dublin, the other in Ballina, at the following addresses:

Department of Rural and Community Development,
Trinity Point,
10-11 Leinster Street South,
Dublin 2

Department of Rural and Community Development,
Government Offices,
Co. Mayo
F26 E8N6

A small number of officers are based at regional locations throughout the country.

Contact details:

General enquiries can be directed to or 076 106 4900.
Other points of contact for press and other queries can be found here.

Details of how to make access requests of the Department are available below:
Freedom of Information/Access to Information on the Environment
Data Protection