Agencies and Bodies under the Department’s Aegis

In accordance with the 2016 Code of Practice for Governance of State Bodies and in the interest of good governance in the public sector, all State bodies are subject to oversight and accountability to ensure that there are robust and effective governance arrangements in place in State bodies under its aegis.

There are five bodies under the aegis of this Department:

Western Development Commission 

The Western Development Commission (WDC) is a statutory body that was set up to promote both social and economic development in the Western Region (Donegal,
Leitrim, Sligo, Mayo, Roscommon, Galway and Clare). It ensures Government policy is
directed at improving the social and economic situation in the region, through support
for projects in a wide variety of sectors. It also manages the WDC Investment Fund to
provide loans and equity to business and local communities in the West.


Pobal works on behalf of Government to manage and implement a number of publicly-funded programmes designed to improve outcomes for local communities, particularly those encountering social and economic disadvantage.

Irish Water Safety 

The Department provides oversight and support to Irish Water Safety in its mission to reduce the number of deaths by drowning, through increased education, instruction and public awareness measures.

Charities Regulator

The Charities Regulator is Ireland’s national statutory regulator for charitable
organisations. It maintains a public register of all charitable organisations in Ireland and
ensures their statutory compliance. It also promotes and supports best practice in the
charitable sector.

Charity Appeals Tribunal

The Charity Appeals Tribunal is a statutory body established with effect from 1 August 2016. The function of the Tribunal is to hear and adjudicate on appeals against certain decisions of the Charities Regulator, under Section 45 of the Charities Act 2009. The Tribunal is independent in the performance of its statutory functions. The Rules of the Tribunal came into effect from 4 July 2018.

Appointments to State Boards

A list of members of State Boards under the aegis of the Department is available here.

Guidelines on Appointments to State Boards, 2014